Jonelle Smith (President, USTA Midwest)
Nick Werth and George Nelson (ECTA)
Thomas Patterson (USTA Chicago)

The Evanston Community Tennis Association of Evanston, Ill., received the USTA/Midwest Section’s Community Tennis Association (CTA) of the Year Award at an awards luncheon Saturday, April 13. The luncheon took place during the USTA/Midwest Section Spring Meeting at the Renaissance Indianapolis North Hotel in Carmel, Ind.

The USTA/Midwest Section Community Tennis Association of the Year Award is presented annually to recognize outstanding service rendered in the community, and in the growth and development of the sport of tennis.

Evanston Community Tennis Association received the award partly due to its focus on the Midwest Youth Team Tennis program for 10-and-under youth during the past two years. This program uses the QuickStart Tennis play format, which uses kid-sized equipment, court dimensions, and scoring, making the game more accessible and fun right from the start. Also, fall and spring tournaments are offered for all ages and ability levels, and the annual Fourth of July tournament draws up to 125 participants.

Evanston Community Tennis Association collaborates with the Northwestern University tennis teams for fundraising events. Also, a scholarship program has been started to support Evanston high school teams and players.

Evanston Community Tennis Association exhibits strong sponsorship involvement from local companies and stores. The association spreads its message through various social media channels and actively utilizes its website. Evanston Community Tennis Association has a strong volunteer base which includes board members who are all active tennis players in local leagues, clubs, and tournaments.

The Evanston Community Tennis Association was started in 2001 in an effort to coordinate tournaments, leagues, recreational events, and other activities for tennis enthusiasts in Evanston and surrounding communities. It offers a range of programs which span from youth through senior players.

About USTA/Midwest Section
The USTA/Midwest Section exceeds 90,000 individual members and approximately 1,100 member organizations. It is the second largest section of the United States Tennis Association. The USTA/Midwest Section consists of 13 Districts in the following states: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio and Wisconsin as well as designated counties in West Virginia and Kentucky. The USTA/Midwest Section offers recreational and competitive tennis for individuals of all ages and abilities. Please visit for more information.